Technology Excellence and Leadership
Technology Excellence and Leadership
Why Deepfakes Are So Dangerous and What We Can Do to Lower Risks
0:00
-9:53

Why Deepfakes Are So Dangerous and What We Can Do to Lower Risks

Why Deep Fakes Stop Thought Leaders Like Me from Creating YouTube Videos

Dear Subscribers,

Some of my readers ask why they can find me on every major social media platform except for YouTube and TikTok. While I don’t focus much on short-form TikTok clips, I genuinely enjoy creating long-form videos on YouTube. 

Platforms like these are excellent tools for educating and inspiring audiences in meaningful ways, and I’m passionate about sharing my work with the world.

So why am I not there yet? It is not because I lack the desire or ability to create interactive content on YouTube. Instead, one powerful, dangerous, and increasingly prevalent phenomenon holds me back: deep fakes. As a creator who values authenticity, they concern me deeply.

Given the growing sophistication of deep fake technology, I am cautious about exposing myself to its risks by participating on platforms like YouTube. 

While YouTube is an excellent medium for long-form content, it is also a platform where deep fake videos can go viral quickly. Misinformation spreads faster than corrections, and even if a deep fake were proven false, the damage could already be done.

We must remain vigilant in an era where digital creators, especially on YouTube, are vulnerable to impersonation. For now, my hesitation stems from a desire to protect the reputation I have worked so hard to build. 

I hope this interactive podcast that I prepared with Google Notes will give you valuable insights. You can download it to listen to at your convenience.

For those unfamiliar, a deep fake refers to synthetic media created using artificial intelligence (AI) technology to fabricate someone’s likeness, voice, or actions in a highly realistic manner.

With advanced AI, it is now possible to manipulate existing footage or create entirely new, hyper-realistic content that falsely represents people, even making it appear as if they have said or done things they never did.

Imagine seeing a video of yourself, looking and sounding exactly like you, delivering a message you would never support. That is the chilling potential of deep fakes.

A prime example of this is Elon Musk, one of the most influential tech entrepreneurs and CEOs. Over the past few years, Musk has been the target of multiple deep fake videos that went viral on platforms like YouTube.

These videos show “Musk” promoting fake cryptocurrency schemes, offering investment advice he never gave, or making outrageous claims that could undermine his credibility.

I also wrote a detailed story on Medium if you want to read about it. I provided some practical tips for a proactive approach. One of the is blockchain protection which I will cover in a comprehensive story story soon.

Why Deep Fakes Stop Thought Leaders Like Me from Creating YouTube Videos

The scary effects of deep fakes in our professional lives and what we can do about them proactively

Thank you for reading my post and watching the audio summary of this issue.


If you are a freelance writer, I recently authored a book titled Substack Mastery, which is now available in popular online bookstores. I provide the link for interested readers.

Community Building on Substack Bridging with Medium and Patreon

Many writers ask why I emphasize the community aspect of platforms so much. The answer is simple: platforms like Substack can feel lonely and isolated without a strong community.

I learned this firsthand during my first six months on Medium, which was anything but enjoyable. Building a supportive community changed everything.

Besides, I have yet to encounter any successful writer, bestselling author, or leading Substack creator who thrives without being part of or leading a community. Community isn’t just an add-on; it’s essential for lasting success.

Integrating Substack with Medium is a great idea. To this end, as a community builder, I created a philanthropic organization that will empower creators, freelance writers, and content entrepreneurs with a commercial arm. I documented the strategy and high-level plan in a story. Please feel free to ask questions and provide feedback. Refraining from perfection, I choose a progressive path.

Here are our draft service definitions for creators, freelance writers, and content entrepreneurs. We will explain the details in our upcoming newsletter. Here is an invitation from a founding member.

Leave a comment

Share Technology Excellence and Leadership

Discussion about this podcast

Technology Excellence and Leadership
Technology Excellence and Leadership
My Professional Leadership Substack for Technology Leaders
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Dr Mehmet Yildiz